Rated 5 out of 5

Very nice, clean apartment, in a great location. Sara is welcoming, helpful, and communicative. Excellent stay, good value!

Jacob
Rated 5 out of 5

Liz’s place was great! We stayed for a month and she kept in touch with us throughout our stay. The location was a great neighborhood that was convenient for a lot of restaurants and grocery stores, as well as the East River. However, it was a bit loud since it is facing the avenue. Amenities to get us started were included, but they were not fully stocked upon our arrival, causing us to have to purchase our own. Overall, we had a great stay and the pictures of the place were very accurate. We recommend for long term stays!

Sona
Rated 4 out of 5

David was a great host and was quick to respond to calls! This was my first NYC apartment rental so I wasn’t sure what to expect. We rented Apt 2W (up 2 flights of narrow stairs). The apartment was clean, neat and comfortable. Nice new TV and I could hook up my IPod to play music. Nice having a separate bedroom from living area. Great restaurant and bar downstairs and dry cleaners/laundry across the street. Only think I didn’t like was teeny tiny bathroom and the shower needs to be updated. Not fancy, but the price certainly couldn’t be beat and I would come back and recommend to others.

Tiffanie W.

They Are Loving Us

4.9
Rated 4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5 stars (based on 539 reviews)
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

The apartment is beautiful, clean, excellent location, near all public transportation. Me & my husband enjoyed the bed extremely confutable. The owner is charming & very pleasant, helped with all our needs. I will rent again the apartment & recommend it for my friends & family. The restaurant we recommend is Hillstone on 27 and park ave which is 5 minutes’ walk, there are great other restaurants in this neighborhood.

----------
Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2021

I stayed here for a long weekend with my brother and both of our wives to attend our cousins wedding and to do some sightseeing. The location of the apartment was perfect for attending the wedding and also only a couple blocks from the green line #6 subway. Although we didn’t ride the bus, there is a bus stop right outside the door to the apartment too. Plenty of restaurants in the vicinity along 23rd and 3rd avenue and a grocery store and convenient store right across the street. We spent most of our time on the go, but the apartment provided just what we needed and the A/C worked well for the 90 degree days we were there.
Sara was also very accommodating and allowed us to keep our luggage there after checking out so we didn’t have to haul it around with us before our ride to the airport arrived.

Chris R.
Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2021

We enjoyed our time at this property and David was terrific about restocking a few items in the apartment. He was in regular contact with us and easily accessible. The neighborhood was quiet by NY standards and there is a fabulous pizzeria next door and a small grocery across the street. This is a small apartment even though it’s a one bedroom. It’s an older building but well maintained. Pack lightly on several fronts: two narrow flights of steps plus little extra space for your stuff. A couple of suggestions: provide a bath mat, wash cloths and sheets for the futon in the living room. Definitely request the air mattress because it’s deluxe! Thanks for the hospitality!

--------
Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2021

What a great little apartment in the perfect location! Everything was clean when we arrived and David was always available with anything we needed. Even checked in with me the second morning to see if we were doing well. The bed was like heaven! You will have your typical street noise like any place in the city so that shouldn’t be a surprise. It is steps away from a great little diner too which was so nice!
I will definitely see if this place is available the next time I am staying in NYC!

Leslie B.
Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2021

Great location. Very comfortable. Owners easy to communicate with and very helpful.

Charles B.
Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2021

We enjoyed our stay in the apartment. Great location and convenient to restaurants, bagels, coffee and the subway. The bedroom is nice and quiet, with a very comfortable bed. Nice little kitchen which is a real plus. Sara was in touch as soon as we arrived so the check in and out process was very easy and convenient for our schedule. Thank you for checking in with us during our stay and for the free movie! The bathrooms have not been recently updated and they show a little wear. They are a bit small, but were fine for three of us. As in many older buildings in the city, there is no elevator. The apartment has no heat control and it was very toasty in the apartment. We had to open a window to regulate the temperature a bit. Overall, the apartment was comfortable, bright and sunny. We enjoyed it.

Christa
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

I must say i normally dont spend time writing reviews but my experience with Liz apartment was just great . my girlfriend and I came to visit new york city for a Long thxgiving weekend . even-though the weather was a bit cold our vacation was perfect. the apartment was clean and quiet , the heat was on all the time so it was cozy and warm with a super soft bed i slept better then home (: the apartment was located in the center of gramercy , one of the nicest neighborhoods in Manhattan and very close to everything . the subway and union square were 5 minute walk . a great bonus is that the owner lives in the building and if there is any problem or request will come right away , extensional service ,worth every penny , i highly recommend this host to everyone coming to visit the big apple ,even big family can stay in the apartment because they have a sofa bed in the living room . I will never stay in a hotel again when i come to ny , i can tell you that !

--------
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

So let me start with saying that I would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone looking to stay in NYC for cheap while enjoying the city (doing touristy things).
My girlfriend and I stayed from 12/5/13-12/9/13 in Avigail’s apartment on the first floor. Like many other reviews said the steps were narrow going up but we had rather large suitcases and no issues. The apartment faced 2nd ave which was nice for grabbing taxis but it made it quite noisy at night (we weren’t there during the day).
The apartment was very clean and rather large for NYC standards. But the bathroom was quite small, I am 5’11” and a little heavier than average and felt very cramped in both the toilet and shower rooms. The queen bed was also quite stiffer than I was accustomed to and felt different than a standard mattress.
With all that being said, the location made up for all of that. We were constantly going uptown and downtown and made taxi’s much cheaper being centrally located. It was also very easy to tell taxi’s where you were going. There were plenty of good restaurants in walking distance and had no issues with fear of safety while walking to the restaurants or being directly outside the apartment.
The noise, mattress, and bathroom size is why I rated this a 4/5 stars.

Dominic B.
Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2021

Great location, great communication from the owners. I had requested extra linens prior to arrival, and when they weren’t there, I was given a return call right away and they came by to check on us!
The neighborhood was good and 3-4 blocks from Subway. The apt is on the 2nd floor, so expect a lot of up and downs. 🙂
Deposit returned quickly….
Overall, very happy with the rental.

Amber
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

Having a one-bed room place is ideal for a week stay. With a full kitchen and spacious living for 2 people it was very comfortable. The only drawback was the apartment is right on Second Ave and very noisy. It helped to have A/C which muted the noise a bit. Also the toilet room and shower room are very small. My knees hit the wall. However I like to think it added to a true NYC experience. Sara and David ( owners)are professional, friendly and easy to reach. We could always reach them to answer any question. I would work with them again.
A great neighborhood for walking around and dining. We loved Goodfella Pizza which was on street level right below our apartment and Orion Restaurant is the perfect neighborhood diner. The apt is in an excellent location for cross- city transportation.

Jun L.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

We stayed in one of these apartments for a week. It was clean upon arrival, with everything we could possibly need. It was a charming, safe apartment. The location was good, with a bus stop right outside, and not a far walk from subway stations. The furniture was relatively new and well kept. It looked like parts of the apartment had been renovated fairly recently as well. We were placed in the suite at the back, away from the street and that made for a nice, quiet experience, and a nice view of someone’s courtyard. Because the apartment had a kitchen, this was a good way to save money by buying groceries instead of eating out all the time. It almost felt like we were living in New York instead of just staying in a hotel.

Matt B.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

Can’t find a better place to stay!!
nice neighborhood, everything in walking distance, perfect location!!
we’ll definitely come back to this place!
we were 5 adults and two children, it got a little packed, but we knew that, I’d recommend it for up to 4 adults!

Alexander G.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

Great little condo had everything you could ask for. Very comfortable and bright but a little on the noisy side if you’re staying in one of the units at the front of the building. A restaurant and pub downstairs. Walking distance to more restaurants, pubs, shopping, groceries, liquor store and points of interest. The M15 Bus stops right outside the door to the business district and waterfront or walk to 1st to catch the bus all the way up to Harlem or everything in between. I’m glad we chose this neighborhood, we felt like locals and wouldn’t stay anywhere else!

Bridget P.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

Great location of typical NYC apartment. Very clean building, good size bedroom and living room with sofa. Great for small family. Don’t expect big shower, as I said it is typical NYC apartment and toilet is separate (you can imagine that you are in Paris!). Liz is great and very helpful with any problems, she is always available. Highly recommended…

Regina F.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

Excellent location, close walking and subway to everything. Grocery close and convenient. Liz was terrific host, super organized, quick response to emails and texts. Apartment was great size for 2 adults and a “tween”! Apartment was well equip, very clean and comfortable, and bright. As mentioned in a few other reviews, the street side apartments are noisy – but thats NYC for you! – Nothing that a pair of ear plugs cant solve for the sensitive sleeper! Overall, highly recommend!

Lisa J.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

We just returned from our 3 night stay in Apt. 2W(Unit located at back of building, away from traffic), and were extremely pleased with everything, from the location and spaciousness of the place to our interactions with Liz, who handled our booking. Liz was always quick to respond to our questions, and kind enough to allow us to check in early and check out late in order to accommodate our flight schedule. The apartment is within easy walking distance of Union Square, and since it is on 2nd avenue, there are plenty of taxis passing by right outside your door. Although we did not use the kitchen for cooking, it seemed to be well equipped with both oven and stove top, along with a microwave to reheat leftovers. The bathroom was somewhat tight(common in NYC Apts), with toilet separate from shower and sink, but we did like the fact that one of us could be bathing or brushing teeth while the other was in the restroom. The apartment is actually on the 3rd floor, with stairs that are a bit steep, though A/C works great and very little noise could be heard from traffic and/or neighbors in building. Living room couch was super comfortable to relax upon, and the bed was wonderful to fall asleep in after a long day out and about in NYC. We are planning to visit our daughter again sometime in mid October, and will definitely consider staying here once more if this place is available for booking. Thank you Liz for being so flexible, and for making our stay a stress free experience.

Mark R.
Rated 4 out of 5
July 16, 2021

First, do not be afraid to pay up front via PayPal, it’s not a scam, Liz is trustworthy. Even my deposit was returned within days of our return. She is also very responsive and friendly.
We stayed in 2W which was not on the street side and was suprisingly quiet. Stairs are steep, no elevator. Not a problem you just need to know that you will be carrying your suitcase(s) up stairs. The apt is clean and well provisioned. The bedroom has a double bed. Two of us (friends) comfortably shared it. Living/dining room has a sleeper sofa that would sleep 2, but like most sleeper sofas, I’m not sure how comfortable it would be. We slept one lady on the sofa and she said it was fine. Liz offered an air mattress, we didn’t use it, but it would only fit in the LR without the sofa unfolded. The shower and toilet are separate and clean but tight. If you are bigger than average, it could be uncomfortable. We liked them being separate. There is a full length mirror on the wall between the bedroom and living room so it is convenient for multiple people to primp at the same time. The three of us rotated thru with no issue. Power outlets are sparse (not one in bathroom), might be a good idea to bring an extension cord. We did not use the kitchen, but it looked well equiped. The neighborhood is safe for coming and going at all hours. We never felt threatened in anyway and this was our first trip to NYC. There is an outer locked door on the street, the hall and stairs are well lit and clean and of course the apt door is locked at the handle and with a deadbolt. We heard the other apt occupants, but never saw them. I believe this building has 4 units, 2W, 2E, 3W, and 3E. Plenty of places close by to grab food. Bus stop literally at the outer door. Uber always available within a couple of minutes literally, and the subway is also close. But put on your walking shoes and explore! We found everyone to be friendly and helpful.
Yes, I would stay here again. It is not a five star hotel, but it is affordable, clean, convenient and comfortable.

mena w.
Rated 1 out of 5
July 16, 2021

Cannot put the correct date in this review since it was cancelled prior to our arrival. Two weeks before our arrival we get a “so sorry but you can’t have the apartment”. Owner is now unexpectedly in town and you are out of luck. Tell that to my son at NYU. I am so disgusted with this, rented and paid in full for a month ago after jumping though so many hoops to sign, initial, sign again, fax, scan a contract that obviously means NOTHING. The only good comment I have we were refunded our payment. Don’t do it.

Julie B.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

I stayed here for 3.5 months while I was between apartments this fall into winter, and I can’t speak highly enough of my hosts. They were more responsive and quick to help with any issues I might have had than any NYC landlord I’ve ever dealt with (and after 13 years in the city, I’ve dealt with a lot).
The unit is a classic NYC walkup, a short walk from lovely Gramercy Park, and has everything you need. Reasonably priced and reliable cleaning services, too. No issues with heat, excellent water pressure, and a huge closet.

Jessica C.
Rated 5 out of 5
July 16, 2021

My husband and I rented from Liz over the Christmas holidays. She and her husband were extremely flexible regarding our arrival time. They were also available for any questions we had regarding restaurants, the apartment, etc.
The apartment is in a central location with easy access to all the tourist attractions. Once we figured out the transit system it was super easy to get around. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this to anyone.

Kim P.
en_USEnglish